About the Post

Author Information

I am a public health doctor who is cynically optimistic about most things.

Do as I say, not as I do

The UK’s government’s insistence in continuing its deportation of failed Iraqi asylum seekers leaves me uncomfortable on many levels. Acknowledging the significantly improved security situation but also the fact that bombings, assassinations and kidnappings  still occur does not make it an easy issue. However the hurried manner in which the UK government is handling these difficult decisions is at the very least irresponsible.

Yet beyond the actions of a government eager to rid themselves of a burden of their own creation, the issue of a forced return uncovers other wounds in a Anglo-Iraqi’s fragile identity.  I may optimistically talk about Iraq’s potential after being freed from Saddam’s shackles and recognise the importance of reversing the decades-long brain-drain but if I was given the ‘choice’ of a swift migration ‘back’ now I know what my answer would be.

I may point out that my use will be limited given that I have yet to finish my training but it is a feeble excuse in comparison to my more significant worries over the political stability of post-Saddam Iraq. Most of us are part of this same hypocrisy. In reality many of Iraq’s diaspora will need significant incentives to swap the stability and quality of life of the Western world with the service-deficient turmoil of their home country.

While I still hope my confused yearnings for a country I have hardly experienced will eventually ensure my ‘return’, the question about how to support our fellow brethren, not fortunate to have been granted residency elsewhere, remains to be answered. Awareness about their plight is a start I guess, even if we don’t have the decency to aid them in their time of need.

3 Comments on “Do as I say, not as I do”

  1. ES December 10, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    What makes you think that Iraqi people would welcome you to live in their country?

    • Ali Latif December 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

      You mean no red carpet or garlands? Better call it off then

  2. Haider December 11, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    I think you may have made a typo, i think you meant ‘capacity’, rather than ‘decency’. Or in some cases: ‘desire’

Leave a Reply

